Occupational Categories

Occupational categories are based on your educational qualifications.

Engineers Australia recognises three occupational categories within the engineering team in Australia:

  • Professional Engineer 
  • Engineering Technologist 
  • Engineering Associate

Professional Engineer

Professional Engineers hold an Engineers Australia accredited or recognised four-year professional engineering degree.

As a Professional Engineer, you:

  • Focus on overall systems
  • Develop and apply new engineering practices
  • Apply leadership & management skills
  • Pursue engineering opportunities in an holistic way, taking environmental, community & social issues into account
  • Solve diverse problems.

Engineering Technologist

The academic qualification is an Engineers Australian accredited or recognised three year engineering technology degree.

As an Engineering Technologist, you:

  • Focus on interactions within the system
  • Modify and adapt established engineering practices
  • Advance engineering technology.

Engineering Associate

The academic qualification is a Engineers Australia recognised two year advanced diploma or associate degree of engineering.

As an Engineering Associate, you:

  • Focus on specific elements of the system
  • Work within codes and applies established practices and procedures.

More Information

Not sure which category you belong to? Email Engineers Australia Member Services today.